top of page

Sloppy Brets

I brought this to work awhile back and a co-worker told me it reminded her of sloppy joes - only disgusting and minus the bread. When I shared the ingredients my co-workers said only I would use all of those ingredients together like that. That's where the name Sloppy Brets came from. As with almost all of my cooking - my ingredient list is fluid because I use what I have on hand. Hatch chile peppers are on sale this week so I used them. I normally use jalapneno or serrano peppers. I've used red onions but this week all I had was yellow.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp Ghee (or cooking fat of your choice).

  • 2 Onions, chopped

  • Hot Peppers, chopped (Jalapeno or Serrano usually)

  • 1 head of Garlic

  • Cilantro

  • 1 can of Rotel with green chilies or with habanero.

  • 1 lb. of ground beef

  • 1 can of tomato paste (6 oz)

  • Balsamic vinegar

The Spices:

  • One teaspoon of:

  • Cayenne Pepper

  • Ghost Pepper Salt

  • Ancho Chili Powder

  • Cumin

  • 1/2 teaspoon of:

  • Turmeric

  • Coriander

  • 1/4 teaspoon of:

  • Nutmeg

  • Cloves

  • Cocoa Powder

  • Cinnamon

Saute the onions in your cooking fat. Low and slow (and covered) - this will take at least 45 minutes; stir occasionally.

In a separate pan brown the ground beef. Drain when done and set aside.

I can't stand eating tomatoes so I have to put the Rotel in the food processor. To save time I also throw the garlic, cilantro and tomato paste into the food processor.

Chop the peppers and add them to the Rotel mixture (but don't process the peppers). Measure out all the spices and blend them together.

When the onions are done add everything to the pan and blend it together. Add a splash or two of balsamic vinegar and mix it in. Serve and enjoy.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page